In A World Where Art Screams…Mentality Listens

Ahhhh, the forgiving nature of oil painting.  It is so easy to correct your mistakes.  Just wipe all your worries away in seconds.  You can even go back days later and change your painting.  But with Acrylic painting, there is no room for error.  Acrylic paint dries within seconds to minutes depending on if you are using a medium.  This is my first time using Acrylics.  Come join me as I take this journey expecting the worst, but hoping for the best.

I saw a beautiful painting on a TV show and rather try to come up with something myself, I wanted to create a replica of what I saw.  It is definitely not an exact replica, but none the less, I cannot, nor will not take all the credit for this painting.  I knew nothing about acrylics.  So, I purchased a canvas and started from there.


I painted the canvas white because it was a very cheap canvas and I didn’t have any gesso.  Then I changed my mind and painted it pink.  I then painted an outline.  I started a basic outline and experimented with the colors I had.  In the beginning, I only had a few colors.  Like I said, this was purely an experiment.  So, I didn’t go all out and purchase $200.00 worth of supplies right away because I didn’t know what to expect.  These were different paints, different brushes, different timing!  I started out with what i had which was basically left overs from my oil kit (Bob Ross Kit).  The only thing I actually purchased was the canvas, two brushes, and a few different color paints.  I ended up mixing the paints I had to make new colors.  I purchased two more Acrylic brushes, one big one, and one small one, every two weeks (I’ll explain later about each brush I have and the number and maker of the brush and it’s use).

The following is a list of the steps I took for my very first Acrylic Painting:

Tune in later for Part Two of “Experimenting With Acrylics”

Comments on: "Experimenting with Acrylics" (5)

  1. One thing that these pictures do not do (as beautiful as they are) is capture her intensity of dedication while painting. the few times I witnessed it I was blessed and inspired. She paints while enduring the pain of her disabilities. I truly believe that her artistry is driven by her suffering. Unfortunate but amazing. I can’t wait until her next piece!

  2. If your painting is anything like my jewelry making I truly understand. The world can disappear and you are absorbed in making your feelings come to life.

  3. Julie Catherine said:

    Awesome work! I admire your achievement, well done. I am also considered by society to be ‘disabled’ – I prefer to say that my body just isn’t cooperating with me right now. I haven’t been able to paint or draw for over a year (I guess my arm needed the rest); but I can still write, which is why I started my blog at the beginning of this year. The best part is meeting new friends – and I’m very pleased to ‘meet you’! I look forward to exploring more of your art and poetry in the days ahead. ~ Julie 🙂

    • Thank you so much! i know how it is to be deemed disabled. At first I hated the word and refused to believe it. But as the years went by, God showed me that He is the one that’s able to do for me, without Him, I am totally disabled. Totally. Since I realized that, I mean really understood it, I’ve been able to paint, write, take pictures, dance…ok, well, i’m not quite there yet…Lol. But now being disabled isn’t all that bad as long as I know God is right there with me. It’s so nice to meet you too and hope to keep in touch! – BB

Please elaborate on what you read:

